the little moments that make my world go round

The past year

I was saved when I was about seven, but this past year I think I’ve reached a new place. Before, I thought about God as God. I loved him, but as this guy who gave me everything I have, that I could never repay. It was like, well of course I love him and want to talk to him and read the bible, how could I not? I unwittingly fell into that trap of repaying God.

I cannot earn my way to heaven. No matter how hard I try. I’m just not good enough.

I’m sorry, I know this is cliche… Writing this stuff on a Sunday. I didn’t plan it that way. I know if you wanted a sermon you’d be at church or watching a televised one.

But anyway. This past year I’ve started getting know God for who he is. Someone who cares about every single detail of my life, even the ones so small I don’t even care about them. Truthfully, I wasn’t that serious about reading my bible before. I didn’t ‘have time’. Translation: I didn’t make time. When I did, though, I felt so much better than when I didn’t.

I worked at the Christian camp over the summer (planning on it again this summer! šŸ™‚ ) which grew my faith significantly. Going into that kitchen every day was one of the best summers of my life.

Then came fall, and I wasn’t used to not being surrounded by Jesus stuff all the time after that. I missed it! But around then was when I started trying to get better about reading my bible and seriously getting to know Jesus. At the beginning of this year, I finally got tired of floundering in different bible plans, not really sticking with anything, and finally just decided on the “30 days with Jesus” one in the back of my bible. Before I started, I prayed God would give me consistancy and a hunger to read.

And he gave it to me! I read every day for about a month and a half. Then things got a bit hectic and I missed a couple days, but I’m getting back on track. Right now I’m at about 5 days a week as far as reading/praying time goes.

God has also given me a hunger to know him stronger than anything I’ve ever felt before… It’s a bit overwhelming at times, but I am so thankful for it.

So… Anyway… Not sure what made me write all this down.

4 responses

  1. “Ask and you shall receive” thanks for sharing your wisdom about asking for hunger to read and reflect. It is something I struggle with regularly (there is always something competing for my time), and I should pray about it daily.

    Good stuff.

    April 1, 2010 at 3:48 am

    • snappy009

      i’ll pray for you as well šŸ™‚ it is so difficult to make time sometimes

      April 1, 2010 at 7:51 pm

  2. Sleeper Awakened

    Hey Tay. This is exciting! I just wanted to add that I have been on a similar journey. It’s definitely an appetite thing. The more you read Scripture, and regularly, the more you want to read. You develop a hunger that only the Word will satisfy. An awesome program for this is called “Balancing the Sword”. It lays out your schedule in daily increments and if you miss more days than you would like it’s very simple to reprint your plan with revised dates. I’ve also found that the best time is right when I wake in the morning. I roll over and pick up my Bible and read.

    April 13, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    • snappy009

      very helpful stuff! thank you so much.
      I will pray for your walk with Christ as well, i hope that your hunger will be satisfied, but your desire will never be quenched.

      April 13, 2010 at 7:25 pm

Leave a Reply

