the little moments that make my world go round

Camp



dreamer, originally uploaded by beag1e94.

Well! My first week at camp was great! I’m now certified in CPR/AED and shallow water attendant (basically a shallow water lifeguard) and I’ve been fully trained and am now ready for whatever these campers can dish out for me! Or at least I hope I am. I guess I’ll find out tomorrow when they arrive. 🙂

This summer’s verse is John 1:10-14. I just love how the book of John starts out… “In the beginning was the word…” It sounds like the beginning of a huge and epic story. Which it is. But when I read it, I just imagine some deep narrator voice saying it as you watch a forward pan towards the ocean on your mind’s TV screen… then you see a foggy haze above the water and it’s strangely still. The Earth hasn’t begun spinning yet, apparently, and there’s no waves or tide system. And then you see a beautiful luminescent shape hovering above the water and you see it… God’s holy spirit hovering over the water, (Like in Genesis) and it takes your breath away.

And that’s what pops into my mind every time I read “In the beginning was the word…”.

Have a lovely week, all!

2 responses

  1. The statement in the picture is so true

    June 19, 2010 at 11:40 pm

  2. SimplyMe

    Wow, what a beautiful metal picture. 😀 Now I’ll have the same one when I read it. John 1:1 is one of my favorite verses, it’s so poetic. Really neat book. 🙂 Love the picture you posted as well.

    June 20, 2010 at 7:02 pm

Leave a Reply

