the little moments that make my world go round

peace



peace, originally uploaded by beag1e94.

I realize the sign in the picture is controversal, but for this purpose, it simply means peace. (yep. I’m shallow. I go for the trendy shots. 😉 )

I apologize for the gaps between posts… I’ll be back home August 8, so you can expect more regular posting then.

camp is going great! I love the campers so much. I think this past week was the best yet, I feel like I was able to bond a lot with the girls and really get to know them well. God is teaching me so much through these kids, it’s crazy. I think I’m learning and being loved more than I’m teaching and loving.

This may sound creepy, but sometimes I’ll wake up in the night just to listen to all those little miracles breathing and snoring and stirring in their sleep. It’s such a beautiful noise. And I love that I get to spend all my time with them during the week. The hardest part is Saturday morning, when they leave and then prep begins for Sunday’s new batch of kids. I always wonder what they’re going home to, what their ‘normal’ life is like. Especially the Angel Tree kids, who have at least one parent in jail and usually the other is an alcoholic or druggie or abusive or something to that effect. They’re the ones with the most love to give, I find. Which is ironic, because you know at home they’re probably not getting a whole bunch. But maybe they are, every situation is different.

Anyway. I should go. Much love to all. ❤

One response

  1. Thanks for sharing and especially your work with the Angel Tree kids–they certainly need some good influences.

    July 14, 2010 at 12:04 am

Leave a Reply

