the little moments that make my world go round

trees



tree, originally uploaded by beag1e94.

I have finished Teen week and my second to last week of camp. It was a wonderful week, to be sure. More drama than usual, but I’d been expecting it.

Of course, this week I found that the place where a lot of the kids minds were and the source of some of the drama going on was relationships, which caused me to reflect a bit. Personally, I’ve chosen to walk the courtship route… But that’s a post for another day.

I just don’t see the point in getting as close as some of them were so young. I was thinking about it during Chapel one evening and came up with an analogy that I think is rather clever, if I do say so myself. It goes like this: A baby tree is planted too close to another seedling. As the two grow, they get all the things they need to thrive as adult trees, and all the while the space between them shrinks and their roots become intertwined with each other, until it gets to the point that they are so close to uproot one would kill the other. One of the trees grows faster than the other, and starts to steal nutrients from the other, and eventually the tree will wither and die of malnourishment.

I think it’s the same with people. If you get too close with someone too soon, you become too dependant on them, which is dangerous. Adult trees do just fine with other trees, and can even be pretty close to them without harm. But while they are seedlings they’re doing the most growing and need the largest space ratio.

I dunno. Maybe I’m just an odd kid who zones out and thinks about plants in relation to romance randomly. (Dig that annunciation!)

This coming week is angel tree middler week and my last week of camp! *sob* I’m looking forward to it, but I’m rather intimidated again. I’ve heard a lot about these kids and how crazy this week is going to be.

& Side note — A friend of mine who works at camp got one of those cheap-o bouncy balls mailed to her this week… no box or anything, they just slapped a stamp, an address and a note on it and stuck it in the mail. So of course I’m going to try it. hehe 🙂

Leave a Reply

